Under the leadership of Mohamed Elhadidy (Zewail City for Science and Technology, Egypt) the 51 member selection committee of the Global Young Academy has finalised the selection of 40 new members to join the GYA in June 2020 for a tenure of five years. Each application was evaluated by at least three selection committee members in two successive rounds of reviews, and scored based, first and foremost, on the excellence of their scientific research, but also importantly, on demonstrated societal engagement.

The new member cohort comes from 30 different countries, from all GYA general disciplines, and includes 23 females, 1 non-binary, and 16 males.

Among other activities, the GYA acts as a facilitator and (virtual) convenor for the growing global network of National Young Academies (NYAs). We are therefore delighted to see that a number of our new GYA members are also members of – or in leadership positions in – their country’s NYA.

Additionally, we are pleased to welcome a number of  Young Affiliates of The World Academy of Science (TWAS) among our 2020 membership intake.

Please join us in extending a very warm welcome to: 

Alma Hernández-Mondragón, SECTEI, CDMX, Mexico

Amy Quandt, San Diego State University, USA

Andreea Molnar, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Carlo D’Ippoliti, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Chandra Sharma, IITH, India

Chika Ejikeugwu, Ebonyi State University, Nigeria

David Fernandez Rivas, University of Twente, Netherlands

Derya Baran, KAUST, Saudi Arabia

Devina Lobine, University of Mauritius, Mauritius

Erna Karalija, University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Eshchar Mizrachi, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Estella Carpi, University College London, UK

Janilyn Arsenio, Manitoba Centre for Proteomics and Systems Biology, Canada

Jonathan Tennant, Indonesia

Josep Armengol, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Justine Nzweundji, Cameroon

Karen Cloete, South Africa

Leila Niamir, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change, Germany

Mai Tolba, Ain Shams University, Egypt

Markus J. Prutsch, European Parliament, Belgium

Menattallah Elserafy, Zewail City of Science and Technology, Egypt

Mita Dasog, Dalhousie University, Canada

Muhammad Farooq, Sultan Qaboos University, Oman

Myrtani Pieri, University of Nicosia, Cyprus

Nafissa Ismail, University of Ottawa, Canada

Natasha Gownaris, Gettysburg College, USA

Nina Yasuda, University of Miyazaki, Japan

Nurcan Tuncbag, METU Informatics Institute, Turkey

Patrick Roberts, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Germany

Pei Sean Goh, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Malaysia

Prabhat Singh, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, India

Pradeep Kumar, Wits University, South Africa

Prosper Ngabonziza, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany

Ramia Albakain, University of Jordan, Jordan

Saja Al Zoubi, Christ Church Oxford University, UK

Sami Miaari, Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Sophie Theriault, University of Ottawa, Canada

Sri Fatmawati, Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember, Indonesia

Syed Abbas, Indian Institute of Technology Mandi, India

Victorien Tamègnon Dougnon, University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin

Zhen Wang, China