Group Discussion at first training session. Photo by Eyescape Corporate Photography
Group Discussion at first training session. Photo by Eyescape Corporate Photography

Twenty-two outstanding scientists from all major regions within Africa will participate in the second round of the Africa Science Leadership Programme (ASLP). Among those are five members of the Global Young Academy (GYA). The scientists represent basic and applied sciences, and span a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences and humanities.

The programme starts on 11 April with a week-long workshop on ‘Leading a new paradigm for African Science’. The fellows will dive deeply into topics such as collective leadership and science communication. Leaders in academia and research, science communication, and leadership theory and practice will join the fellows for interactive sessions. The workshop will be followed by a year of application and mentorship, with a follow-up workshop planned for April 2017.

The 2016 ASLP fellows will meet with the inaugural cohort of fellows on 16 April, when the 2015 fellows, including six members of the GYA and one alumnus, start their second workshop.

Inaugural participants discussing. Photo by Eyescape Corporate Photography
Inaugural participants discussing. Photo by Eyescape Corporate Photography

“The ASLP has gained prominence regionally and even globally since it was launched in 2015. It provides in a key need for young scientists in Africa, and serves as an example for other regions in the world,” said Eva Alisic, co-chair of the Global Young Academy.

“There is such a big need to develop the skills of a next generation of scientists to lead more interdisciplinary and globally connected teams to resolve address the complex challenges the world faces. ASLP is fast becoming an example of the type of programme through which this development can be fast tracked,” added Professor Bernard Slippers, project leader from the University of Pretoria and past co-chair of the Global Young Academy.

The following fellows have been selected into the second round of the programme:

Dr Adewale AdewuyiRedeemers University, Nigeria
Dr Aliza le RouxUniversity of the Free State, South Africa
Assoc Prof Andre GanswindtUniversity of Pretoria, South Africa
Dr Anna CoussensUniversity of Cape Town, South Africa
Dr Chioma OnyigeUniversity of Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Dr Daniel OrwenjoThe Technical University of Kenya, Kenya
Dr Deusdedith IshengomaTanga Research Center, Tanzania
Dr Eleanor OchodoStellenbosch University, Kenya
Dr Fawzi MahomoodallyUniversity of Mauritius, Mauritius
Dr Ghada BassioniAin Shams University, Egypt
Dr Gilbert AbiiroUniversity for Development Studies, Ghana
Prof Hassna ChennaouiHassan II University, Morocco
Dr Ikwoluwapo AjayiUniversity College Hospital, Nigeria
Dr Joana AfonsoUniversity Agostinho Neto, Angola
Prof Lahcen El YoussfiMoulay Ismail University, Morocco
Dr Maha AlyAin Shams University, Egypt
Dr Makondelele MakatuUniversity of Venda, South Africa
Dr Mohamed ElzayatCairo University, Egypt
Dr Nosiphiwe NgqwalaRhodes University, South Africa
Assoc Prof Sameh SororAin Helwan, Egypt
Prof Sunday AtawodiAhmadu Bello University, Nigeria
Dr Yonas ShikurAddis Ababa, Ethiopia

The Africa Science Leadership Programme is run by the University of Pretoria in partnership with the Global Young Academy, and is funded by the Robert Bosch Foundation. It involves many collaborations, among others with the Leopold Leadership Programme at Stanford University and the specialist facilitation company KnowInnovation.



ASLP 2016 News Release