Profile picture of: Mahesh Kumar


Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur

Electrical Engineering

Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur
NH-62 Nagaur Road Karwar
Jodhpur-342037, INDIA

Research Interests

Semiconductor Materials and Devices


Prof. Mahesh Kumar has received M.Tech degree in Solid State Materials from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi and Ph.D degree in Engineering from IISc Bangalore, India. He worked at Central Research Laboratory of Bharat Electronics Ltd. Bangalore as Scientist from 2005 to 2013. He has received INSA Medal for Young Scientists-2014 by Indian National Science Academy, the MRSI Medal-2016 by Materials Research Society of India, DAE-Young Achiever Award-2016 by BRNS, Research Excellence Award 2020 by IIT Jodhpur and Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Prize by The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany. He is recipient of the Fulbright-Nehru Academic and Professional Excellence Fellowships-2021 to work at MIT, USA; The Royal Society International Exchange Award-2021 to work at University of Edinburgh, UK; JSPS Invitation Fellowship-2021 to work at Nagasaki University, Japan, PIFI Visiting Scientist fellowship-2021 by Chinese Academy of Science to work at Hefei Institute of Physical Science China; Duo-India Professor Fellowship-2020 to work at University of Stuttgart, Germany,, Bhaskara Advanced Solar Energy Fellowship-2018 to work at South Dakota State  University, USA and INSA-DFG International Bilateral Exchange Award-2015 to work at University of Paderborn, Germany.  He is also Editorial Board member of IEEE Sensors Journal and Nano Express. He is also Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry. He is founding Member and served as Chair of Indian National Young Academy of Sciences. Dr. Kumar is member of Programme Advisory Committee (PAC) of SERB and DST. He has published more than 130 research articles. His research interests are focused on 2D materials, Nanomaterials, Sensors, Semiconductor materials and devices.


INSA Medal for Young Scientists-2014

The MRSI Medal-2016

DAE Young Achiever Award-2016

Bhaskara Advanced Solar Energy Fellowship

INSA Bilateral Exchange fellowship