

News Release

Global Young Academy welcomes 41 new members from 31 countries around the world, maintains gender balance

7 March 2023 – Under the leadership of <u>Menattallah Elserafy</u> (Zewail City of Science and Technology, Egypt) the 53-member Selection Committee of the Global Young Academy (GYA) has finalised the selection of 41 new members to join the GYA in June 2023 for a tenure of five years. The GYA's new member cohort includes representatives from 31 individual countries, covering all GYA general disciplines, and includes 16 females, 1 non-binary and 24 males.

In June 2023 when the new cohort is inducted, the gender ratio will be 104 female/93 male/2 non-binary/1 no information given. Such gender balance is a development that the GYA has been moving towards for the last few years and is a reflection of the excellent female/non-binary applicants to the GYA.

In addition to helping the GYA maintain its gender parity benchmarks, the new member cohort has increased GYA international representation by two countries. The newly added countries include Armenia and Palestine.

Among other activities, the GYA acts as a facilitator and convenor for the growing global network of <u>National Young Academies</u> (NYAs). The GYA is therefore delighted to see that a number of new members are also members of – or in leadership positions in – their respective country's NYA.

The GYA is also pleased to welcome a number of Young Affiliates of <u>The World</u> <u>Academy of Science</u> (TWAS), <u>Organization for Women in Science for the Developing</u> <u>World</u> (OWSD), fellows of the <u>German Academic Exchange Service</u> (DAAD) and <u>Alexander von Humboldt Foundation</u> (AvH) among the 2023 new member cohort.

Each of the new members' applications was evaluated by at least three Selection Committee members in two successive rounds of reviews, and were scored, first and foremost, based on the excellence of their scientific research, as well as on their demonstrated societal engagement.

Please join the GYA in extending a very warm welcome to the following new members:

Alice Krozer, El Colegio de México, Mexico Antonia Saktiawati, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia Aram Simonyan, National Academy of Sciences of Armenia, Armenia Armelle Tsamo Tontsa, University of Yaounde, Cameroon Courtney Hill, National Academy of Engineering, United States Cynthia Farid, Ergo Legal Counsel, Bangladesh Dmitry Rudenko, Higher School of Economics, Russia Elina Amadhila, University of Namibia, Namibia Eric Isai Ameca Y Juarez, Beijing Normal University, China Estrella Diaz Sanchez, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain Flavio Alex de Oliveira Carvalhaes, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Francesco Maurelli, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany Godwin Anywar Upoki, Makerere University, Uganda Hanjo Hamann, EBS University of Business and Law, Germany Haruka Ono, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan Heather Armstrong, University of Manitoba, Canada Hiba Baroud, Vanderbilt University, United States Hoan Ngo, Seoul National University, South Korea Houda Ennaceri, Murdoch University, Australia Hugues Clotaire Nana Djeunga, Centre for Research on Filariasis and other Tropical Diseases (CRFiIMT), Cameroon Hussam Hussein, Royal Scientific Society (RSS), Jordan Jan Frederik Gogarten, University of Greifswald, Germany Jesse Gitaka, Mount Kenya University, Kenya Jorge Rosales-Salas, Universidad Mayor, Chile Keith Phiri, Lupane State University, Zimbabwe Kyle Kirkup, University of Ottawa, Canada Luisa Fernanda Echeverría-King, Corpración Universitaria Del Caribe (CECAR), Colombia Mandira Lamichhane Dhimal, Policy Research Institute, Nepal Maria Mercedes Caron, National University of Córdoba, Argentina Mohammad Hosseini, Northwestern University, United States Muhammad Qasim, Te Rangawairua o Paratene Ngata Research Centre Ngāti Porou Hauora, New Zealand

Muhammad Zaffar Hashmi, COMSATS University Islamabad, Pakistan

Neema Mduma, The Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology, Tanzania

Nichole Lighthall, University of Central Florida, United States

Praveen Kumar, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, India

Ram Avtar, Hokkaido University, Japan

Rubén Dario Costa Riquelme, Technical University of Munich, Germany

Samer Saleem Abuzerr, University College of Science and Technology, Palestine

Shady Farah, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Udom Sae-Ueng, National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (BIOTEC), Thailand

Wasim Sajjad, National University of Medical Sciences, Pakistan.

The new member cohort officially begins their five-year term during the GYA's Annual General Meeting and International Conference of Young Scientists, which this year will be held in Kigali, Rwanda, from 5–9 June 2023. The conference programme, panel and speaker information can be found here: <u>Annual International Conference of Young Scientists</u>.

About the Global Young Academy

The vision of the GYA is *science for all; science for the future*, and its mission is to give a voice to young scientists and researchers around the world. The GYA, founded in 2010, is an independent science academy of 200 outstanding early-to mid-career researchers from six continents who are selected from across disciplines based on their academic excellence and commitment to engage with society. GYA members serve five-year terms, and the GYA presently counts members and alumni from 100 countries. The GYA administrative Office is publicly funded and hosted at the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Contact person for the media

James Curtiss, Senior Communications Officer <u>James.Curtiss@globalyoungacademy.net</u>